Posted in recipes, Uncategorized

Tonight’s dinner…pan seared chicken and normandy rice cassarole

I hear a lot “how’d you make that” or “I want your recipe”.  Truth be told, I have few recipes.  I just cook.  So my “recipe” section will be more of a tutorial section…a “how-to” without exact measurments.

First I put on 3 cups of rice and 6 cups of water.  I use my Pampered Chef microwave rice cooker, parboiled rice (because I prefer the texture), a dash of olive oil, 3 tablespoons of chicken boullion powder.  I micro it for 15 minutes.  In the mean time, I poured normandy veggies into the bottom of my (again Pampered Chef) deep covered baker (just to guage how much I want to include), then started a basic bechamel sauce in my 12 inch skillet.  1/4 c butter, 1/4 c flour…until golden, then wisk in 3 c milk.  When smooth, wisk in 2 c colby jack (my kids do not like cheddar), 3 ounces crumbled feta, 1/2 cup fresh shred parm.  1 tsp garlic salt.  By then the rice is done.  I heat the oven to 350.  Then pour the rice and the veggies into the skillet with 1 small can of mushrooms and stir until coated.  Pour it all into the baker, top with bread cumbs, cover with lid and bake for 1 hour 10 minutes.  Last 3 minutes on broil without the lid to toast the top. 

When there’s 30 minutes on the timer the chicken needs to go into a hot skillet with 2 tbsp olive oil.  I seasoned 3 chicken breasts (bone and skin) in Cavenders Greek seasoning.  Pan is scorching hot and I put them skin side down.  Put the lid on and cook for about 30 minutes.  Then take the cassarole out and flip the chicken.  Cook another 10 minutes.  Internal temp should be 170-180. 

And done.

Leave a Reply

