Posted in recipes

Cheater’s Cacciatore


 

Originally uploaded by nehifamily

Ok so normally my cacciatore is done with equal parts boneles skinless thighs and breasts and simmered in the slow cooker all day. Days like today, I don’t get started on dinner until 4pm.

So I had 4 large chicken breasts thawed and marinated in Italian seasoning and Italian dressing. I seasoned and marinated them in a vac bag before freezing.

I sliced 1/4 an onion and pressed 4 cloves of garlic into a hot saute pan with olive oil. Then I sliced the chicken breasts into thick medallions and cooked them about 1/2 way in the skillet before adding 1 lb sliced mushrooms, 1 can spaghetti sauce, 2 cans diced tomatoes. I let it simmer for 30 minutes. It’s not as thick as I’d like because of the moisture from the mushrooms, but pretty decent for a 30 minute meal. Simmering longer, uncovered, would make for a thicker sauce….or using 1 can tomato paste instead of 1 of the cans of tomatoes.

In a dutch oven I cooked 6 cups chicken stock and 2 cups polenta until thick. Then added 4 tbsp butter and 1 cup shredded parm cheese.

I also did some noodles because the kids like their sauce over noodles and their polenta with just cheese.

Leave a Reply

