Posted in all about the family, frugal tips, recipes

Pizza crust


P2170004

Originally uploaded by nehifamily

So tonight the hubby and I have a thing to do. The kids still need dinner, right? I prefer to do something that they won’t complain about when my 16 yr old son has to be in charge. Tonight it will be pizza.

The dough was 2 packets of yeast combined with 2tbsp sugar and 2 cups warm water. Stir until dissolved and let sit 5 minutes. Then I dumped in 4 tbsp olive oil 1 tsp salt and 6 cups flour into the mixer with the yeast water. I used the dough hook on my kitchenaid and mixed well. I hit the preheat on the oven for 350. Then I turned it out onto a lightly floured counter…kneaded it 4-5 turns until smooth. I sprayed a mixing bowl with olive oil and plopped the dough into to it. Then I turned the oven off. I was basically just creating a warm environment for the dough to rise. I covered the dish with clear wrap and popped it into the oven for 2 hours-ish. Until it doubles.

Then I punched the dough and cut it into 3. Preheat oven to 400. I mashed out each section onto a stone pan.

In a prep bowl I combined spaghetti seasoning and olive oil. I brushed each crust with this and baked it 3-5 minutes.

Now my crusts get to sit on top of the stove until dinner time, when I will top them and bake them until melty and golden. But if you don’t want them tonight, after this pre baking and cooling, they can be wrapped in clear wrap and then in foil and frozen for future use.

Leave a comment