Posted in all about the family, homemaking, recipes, Uncategorized

grrrr argh grumble blah


Originally uploaded by nehifamily

So today I noticed the toy room looked like a tornado hit it. I demanded…repeatedly…over the next 2 hour period…that it get cleaned by my three completely innocent and angelic daughters. It appeared to be cleaned so I let it go. When bed time rolls around I tackled changing the sheets on their beds and decided this is the time to put on the new zippered mattress protectors. Believe it or not, until now I had covered the mattresses with flannel backed vinyl table cloths under the fitted sheet. It had worked to protect the mattress from accidents but they were green…and had started to change the sheets to green. Anyhow so I found some REAL mattress protectors at the store and got them. So I’m trying to wrestle these mattresses into these covers. These mattresses are great quality with the boards built into the bottoms of them. So they’re also stiff and heavy. Thankfully my son rushed to help. BUT it allowed me to see the chaos that lives UNDER their beds!

Then I saw what lives behind their dressers…and between the bed and the wall…and behind all the doors…

Which got me to look around and see what was stashed behind the hamper…and each of their toy bins…and under the book shelves…and behind the TV and computer desk…and the poor guinea pig didn’t want Barbies in his cage, I’m sure.

It was one of those moments when I wished I’d had a rake for INSIDE USE. It took 2 hours past their bedtime, but the mess is cleaned. I thought for sure that with all the extra cleaning and past their bed time, plus they’re still sick, that they’d hit their freshly made beds and just crash. Yeah, silly me.

M actually came to me to tell me she’d hurt her nose…on the window. Past the point of exasperation here, I told her “too bad, so sad…because if she’d been doing what she was supposed to (laying in bed trying to go to sleep) then her nose wouldn’t have been anywhere near a window”

So now I look out at what I needed to get accomplished tonight, I know it’s simply not going to happen. My kitchen is a wreck. I still have the remnants of Chinese noodles to put away…the produce. The rest will just have to wait until tomorrow. I should have time because I can’t go to church. The girls are still snotting and coughing and so they can’t go. I feel bad because we haven’t been in 6 weeks or so. Someone is always sick. Right now my mister is off being a soldier and doing what they do (and that’s all I got to say about that ~forrest gump style)…so it’s just me and the kids. So I can’t even split the difference and sick people stay home and everyone else goes. Anyhow, so we’ll be working on getting the house cleaned tomorrow…laundry folded…kitchen cleaned.

I’m doing my best here. I haven’t even had a chance to really miss Rob except in not sleeping. I haven’t slept good in a few nights. Night 1 I didn’t sleep at all. Not a wink. It’s getting better. This is normal, but I’m tired. I’m too tired to miss him really, yet. There is going to come a moment that I’m going to break and the tears will come and I’ll wonder how on earth I’m going to be able to keep going.

I wish he’d been here for dinner tonight. He would have loved it. We had dinner at Genghis Grill before he took off and he loved it. It really got me to craving those fat Asian noodles with veggies. I think the process there really helped me be able to put it together at home. I prepped all my veggies first. I got to use my Julienne peeler tool thingy and did 2 large carrots with that…then with a knife sliced up 1/4 of a green cabbage really fine, cut up a fist full of green onions in 2 inch long pieces, and about 2 cups of pea pods, and 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms…All that went into the skillet with 4 large cloves of garlic, diced, 1 tsp of 5 spice powder, 1/2 tsp roasted ginger powder, 1 tsp Cajun seasoning (I know it’s a weird choice, but it worked). Then when the cabbage wilted down I added a whole pack of imitation crab (it’s really flavored fish and not a bad choice), a large can of bamboo shoots sliced, and two really large fist fulls of bean sprouts. The noodles were in the microwave with just enough water to season them. When I added them, there was no liquid left and I topped it all with 1/4 cup bottled general tso sauce, 1/8 cup oyster sauce, 1/8 cup garlic chili sauce. When it was finished I topped it with 1/4 cup roasted sesame seeds.

Leave a Reply

