Posted in homemaking, recipes, Uncategorized

Loaded Zucchini Bread (nut free)


Originally uploaded by nehifamily

So I took Paula Deen’s recipe and made a few small changes. My children are allergic to nuts and so changes must always be made.

Step 1 Preheat oven to 350 and I grated 2 small zucchini and 2 small yellow squash. I scooped the seeds out of the yellow squash because it does tend to have large seeds. This gave me 3-4 cups of squash.

Step 2 I sprayed my loaf pans with Bakers Joy and then coated them with a cinnamon sugar mixture. I didn’t have to, but it gives it a nice sweet crust.

Step 3 in my mixer went 4 eggs, 1 cup olive oil, 2 tsp lemon juice, and 3 cups of sugar. I mixed it on the “stir” setting, then added the squash. Then 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 tsp ground ginger (I used a roasted ginger), 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 2 tsp baking soda and mix well on the “stir” setting. Last, I added the 3 1/4 cups flour, 1 cup whole roasted soy nuts, 1/2 cup roasted sesame seeds and mix well.

I didn’t time the baking process. I just watched and checked it until a knife came out clean. Approximately 1 hour.

One thought on “Loaded Zucchini Bread (nut free)

Leave a Reply

