Posted in homemaking, recipes, Uncategorized

Banafee Cake

Ok so the English pastry is Banofee Pie.  I choose to call it “Bana”fee because that’s how I say it, being from Texas.  Since I made this one up, I can call it whatever I want, right?  LOL

  Ok so you can start this with a typical yellow cake mix.  If you’d like to go from scratch like I did then here you go:

Preheat oven to 350

Step 1) 4 very ripe bananas…mushy even…into the mixer.  Then 1/2 cup butter crisco, 1 1/2 cup sugar and mix well.  Then add 3 eggs and slowly add 1 cup milk (to prevent sloshing). 

Step 2) once that’s creamy as very close to smooth add 1 tsp salt, 3 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp vanilla, and then 2 cups of all purpose flour. 

Step 3) sprayed 9 X13 with baker’s joy, and then pour in the cake batter.  As usual, I didn’t time the baking process.  Personally I think my time would be useless to anyone else because everyone’s oven is just a smidge different.  I baked approximately 40 minutes, until a knife came out clean. 

Step 4) I used a 1/2 inch metal tube to punch holes in the cake…about 12 holes.  So if you’re looking around going “hmmmm metal tube???”, mine was the center post from my Wilton dream mold (the doll cake one).  Go ahead and eat the little bits that come out.  Call it “quality control”.  Set the cake aside to cool.

Step 5) Unwrap 1 whole bag of caramels into a sauce pan with 2/3 cup milk.  Whisk while melting into a bubbly sauce.  OR buy some caramel sauce of your choice…ice cream topping, dulce leche, whatever.  Pour over cake and into holes.  Allow cake to cool completely (about 2 hours)

Step 6) Whipped topping…whip some whipping cream, use cool whip…DO NOT use whip topping from a spray can because it will separate.  Frost cake with this once cake is cooled.  Then top cake with fresh sliced bananas.

Ta-DA!!!!  Banana goodness!

One thought on “Banafee Cake

Leave a Reply

