Posted in Uncategorized

Short cut chicken noodle

The last 24 hours has been pretty emotional for me.  I’m starting a bible study with friends on “The Power of the Praying Wife” by Stormie Omartian and a more personal journey with “Discovering the Treasures of a Godly Woman: Proverbs 31” by Elizabeth George.  I’m really excited about the Treasures aspect of a personal 20 minute a day root building.

Anyhow, day before yesterday I made a rotisserie chicken.  You don’t have to start this with a left over rotisserie chicken.  Any cooked chicken will do…even fried if you remove all the skin and crust.  I just happen to have gotten a rotisserie for valentine’s day 5 years ago.  My kiddos love chicken.  I could just put the cooked bird on the table and they’d be content to pick at the carcass.  No sides required or, usually, desired.  So I had a little over half a bird left because there weren’t any guys home night before last.  I decided that I’d really like some chicken noodle soup.  Typically I’d have stock already made to begin with, but I am fresh out.  So here’s my shortcut.

I started with a couple tbsp of vegetable oil in my caldero.  Large diced a large yellow onion and put it in the pan.  Immediately turned the pan to low because I didn’t want the onions brown, just clear.

Once they’re clear also into the pan: 3 large cloves of garlic diced, 6 stalks of celery sliced, 2 cups of diced carrots, 1/4 head of cabbage diced, and 2 liters of water.  While that starts to come to a boil I placed a small metal colander in the center of the pan.

 

 

As I deboned my chicken I tossed the bones, cartilage, and fatty skin into the colander.  I have small children and so, while I like the flavors that come from these bits, I’m not thrilled at the prospect of having to pick through the soup for the bones.  The meat was already cooked and so it got diced and set to the side to go in at the end.   I brought this to a boil and reduced to a slow simmer for 45 minutes.  I added 2 tbsp of italian seasoning and some fresh basil.  Then 16oz of some new pasta I found at HEB.  It’s high protein and high fiber but is store brand, so only $1.15 a pack.  Last, I added the chicken and cooked only until the pasta was done.

 

I don’t really use recipes unless I’m baking.  So here’s a little plug for my Tupperware business in the form of dinner being served in my 1970’s harvest color Tupperware bowls.  Yes, 1970’s.  There’s a reason they offer a lifetime warranty.  They can.  If you’d like to place an order, this is the part where you visit my website.  LOL  http://order.tupperware.com/pls/htprod_www/!tw$shop.p_category?pv_ic_code=20000

 

 

Leave a Reply

