Posted in Uncategorized

Cauliflower cheese sauce for mac n cheeze

I read something the other day that sort of irritated me.  Someone was saying that we shouldn’t try to replicate typical foods in a more healthy manner because we were lying to our children.  I actually read something to that effect in a couple of different places with people commenting on allergy-free paleo type blogs.  

It’s not about “lying” to our children.  My own children know that there isn’t any cheese in their macaroni.  They know that their macaroni doesn’t contain wheat.  They know that we’ve made changes for the overall health of everyone in the house.  That doesn’t change the fact that they’re children and they want the familiar.  I think we all crave the familiar no matter what age we are.  

My grandmother’s spaghetti doesn’t even remotely resemble mine, or even real Italian food.  Sometimes, though, I just want HER spaghetti.  Sometimes you want brickoven style pizza.  Sometimes you crave Totino’s party pizza….you know what I’m talking about…that nasty cracker crust, fake cheese, and ketchup for sauce.  

The important thing is not in fooling anyone, but in making sure you’re making the right choices for your own health.  Health and nutrition is not one size fits all with the exception of the fact that we all should be striving to be eating REAL food instead of chemicals.  

This has been a rough week and a half for my family.  I’ve made it clear that we are not making these changes JUST for Mickey Mouse.  I don’t want Mim or Tinkerbell pointing any fingers.  When we discussed the changes, I let them know that I am allergic to dairy and soy.  Mickey Mouse is allergic to corn, peanuts, and malt.  We do not know if any of us is allergic to wheat.  This is a choice that we’ve made as a family.  

I miss cheese.  I miss it a lot.  I’m almost certain I’m detoxing off of wheat and dairy.  I haven’t felt my best and the cravings are INSANE!  

Anyhow, I wanted to do something special for the kids today so I made macNcheez.  

I worked from this recipe.  I made a few tweaks, though.  

Image

 

16oz frozen cauliflower

1 1/2 cups plain almond milk (you can use rice milk or any type of milk that fits your diet)

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup of nutritional yeast

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp smoked paprika (for the smokey flavor)

1/4 tsp turmeric (for color)

 

I put the cauliflower in the pot with just enough water to boil it.  I boiled it until tender.  Then I drained it and put it in my Vitamix.  At that point I added all the other ingredients to the blender and blended until smooth.  

I poured the sauce back in the pot and scooped my brown rice pasta directly into the sauce without rinsing so that the starch would further thicken the sauce.

 

And done.  Even my 18 year old son said it was good.  SCORE!  It’s a keeper.

 

Leave a Reply

