Posted in homemaking, recipes

Pumpkin Oat Raisin Bread

1 cup of shortening

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp maple extract

2 cups all purpose flour

2 cups quick oats

1 cup wheat germ

2 tsps baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 tsps pumpkin pie spice blend  *you can make your own or buy it.  I make my own using cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger because I’m not a fan of cloves.

1/4 cup milk

3 cups pumpkin * If you use canned pumpkin, you might need another 1/4 cup milk.  I used fresh steamed and strained pumpkin, which contains more moisture.

Topping is 1/4 cup oats and 1/4 cup flax

 

Preheat oven to 350

Cream the shortening and sugars together.  Then add eggs and extracts.  Then flour, oats, wheat germ, baking soda, salt, and spice.  Mix until well blended.  Next add the pumkin and milk.  If batter is too thick another 1/4 cup milk can be used.

Grease and flour two 9X5 loaf pans.  My own preference is to use a mixture of sugar and pie spice instead of flour for this process.  It gives a nice crispy sweet crust.

This is a popular breakfast food for my kids.

 

 

Leave a comment