Posted in recipes, Uncategorized

Sweet potato pancakes

This whole gluten-free and dairy-free thing has been very overwhelming….and expensive.  God has provided just what we need.  I’m not feeling a lot of excess, though realistically I know we live completely surrounded by excess, but I’m trying to focus on having “enough”.  

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about “enough” lately.  I always thought that growing up without many things, left me feeling like I needed to hoard things.  Food included.  Well, my husband didn’t grow up without and he also likes to hoard things.  Despite my desire to stockpile things like food, school books, and clothing for my children I really dislike clutter.  

We’re a military family.  With that comes PCSing, or moving around the country and world.  PCS stands for Permanent Change of Station.  I challenge the army’s definition of permanent.  We’ve moved rather frequently.  LOL  We’ve been at the current duty station the longest and we’ve gotten rather comfortable.  By that I mean, we’ve collected too much stuff.  

Right now we’re realizing that another move is coming our way even though we don’t have any details or even a timeline.  And so it’s time to get rid of the excess.  Stressful times call for comfort food.  For my kiddos that means pancakes.  

I’m only JUST learning to use these different gluten-free flours and trying to find the best options for our nutritional needs.

We are looking to limit and slowly introduce coconut flour to Mim’s sensitive digestive system in the hopes that she’ll adjust to it.  

We’re slowly introducing eggs to Mickey Mouse to see if she’s allergic.

We’re not wanting excessively high calorie meals like you would get if you stuck to just almond flour. 

And finally, we’re looking to respect and maybe even reduce our grocery expense.  

 

So tonight’s dinner was brinner.  Breakfast for dinner.  

This works out to be 134 calories per serving with 4 grams of protein and 3 grams of sugar.  

Depending on your family size and needs, you may want to reduce this recipe.  I always make pancakes with the intention of putting them in the freezer so that the children can help themselves to breakfast during the week.  

This recipe makes about 40 servings of 2 4 inch pancakes each.

Image

 

6 cups mashed sweet potato

4 cups Hodgson Mill Multi-purpose Baking Mix Gluten Free (I’ll update later when I use my own baking mix blend)

2 cups almond meal (blanched almonds that I ran through the food processor)

1/4 cup coconut flour

3 tbsp gluten free baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

5 eggs

2 tbsp coconut sugar

2 tbsp cinnamon

1 1/2 cup water (I’ll likely use almond milk in the future)

 

Mix well and spoon onto your hot griddle.  This mixture is very thick and so it didn’t bubble like traditional pancakes would, so watch the edges carefully.  

One thought on “Sweet potato pancakes

  1. Hi There,
    Great Post! I also suffer from a slew of food sensitivities including dairy, soy, gluten and pretty much grains in general. When I read you post…specifically the section on how expensive eating “gluten free” can be and the whole learning process involved with the transition…it took me back to the days when I was trying to figure it all out. I have learned over the years to avoid the “gluten free” section of the grocery store (most items are actually nutrient void) and stick to the basics-whole foods. The Paleo diet also has a ton to offer for gluten free, dairy free diets as well-I have a Paleo English muffin recipe on my blog (simplywholefoods.com) that I feel may benefit your family…it is dairy, soy, gluten and grain free…5 ingredients and takes 2.5 mins in the microwave. I make it daily and it’s such a comfort (feels like I’m actually eating bread!) Thanks again for the great post. Your recipe looks great!

Leave a comment